Introducing Elon in LA 2009

 

Below are the 28  students participating in the Elon in Los Angeles 2009 summer program. 

 

Joanna Bateman

Joanna Bateman

I was born. I grew.  Learned how to talk, read, and write. Sent Elvis birthday cards. Sang the Lord’s Prayer in church. Calloused my hands on gymnastics bars. Came home to house parties.  Let kicked-out brothers sneak back in. Wore blue mascara. Cheered varsity. Crashed my car.  Kissed a boy in a play.  Kissed a boy in real life. Cried. Auditioned for Elon’s Acting program. Moved 8 hours south. Took a bite out of the Big Apple. Found independence. Realized that I’m an actor. Felt magic. Realized that I’m a writer. Felt inspiration.  Realized that I’m an artist. Felt life.

 

Ashley Bodine

Ashley Bodine

I am a rising senior and a business major concentrating in marketing and management. I am excited to spend the summer in Los Angeles and learn as much as I can about the entertainment industry. I hope to have the opportunity to integrate my marketing skills into an internship. Los Angeles is going to be an exciting place to be this summer and I am thrilled to be apart of this adventure!

 

Joe Brown

Joe Brown

I am rising junior and a cinema major interested in the production and post-production stages of narrative film. Experiences in filming short movies for a cinema production class have prepared me for my future experiences in Los Angeles. In addition to a passion for film, I also have a passion for music, and will pursue a music technology minor. I have spent most of my life in North Carolina and I am eager to go out to California and jump-start my career.

 

Chris Bunn

Chris Bunn

I’m a sophomore Communications Fellow with a concentration in cinema. I’m a producer for One on One Sports, which recently won a Student Emmy. One day I want to run my own production company that prioritizes quality in their films over the quantity of money it makes.

 

Paul Busby

Paul Busby

I am from Columbia, S.C., where I attended Richland Northeast High School’s Horizon writing program. To fulfill my communications major I hope to specialize in strategic communications, and learn the technical skills that make up the growing convergence media of today. My dream is to be an advertising agent for a major record label or music group. To pass the time, I like to read, write, and jam to music. I am exhilarated about the chance to go to Los Angeles this summer, and the many social, entertainment, and work opportunities that the city has in store.

 

Alexander Carmine

Alexander Carmine

I am a sophomore acting major and I have many interests.  This summer in LA, I hope to not only learn more about the art of acting for the camera but also the history and business that occurs behind the scenes as well.  I want to take surf lessons and maybe even instrument lessons (ukulele or voice). There is so much opportunity and aspects to take advantage of while being a student in LA.  I cannot wait to discover how many unique experiences I will soon encounter in my journey to Los Angeles!

 

Beatrice Copeland

Beatrice Copeland

I’d never really appreciated my name until recently. For the longest time I thought it was the most old-fashioned thing on this planet. Especially when the only response I would get was: “Oh Beatrice? That’s my grandmother’s name.” Awesome. Over time I have come to value the undeniable uniqueness that was impressed upon my most formative years. And I’d like to think I’ve figured out how to channel this individuality towards my goals within the TV and film industry. Just recently I created, produced, and hosted a pilot episode for an original, dorm-makeover show called B Organized. I believe it is the first of many projects and opportunities to come as I embark on yet another journey to learn about the world and myself. As for future plans…who knows. Maybe one day I’ll be making a name for myself in LA.

 

Brandon Curry

Brandon Curry

Born to foolish teenagers at Carolina’s Medical Center on July, 8, 1989; on the night when the annual fireworks presentation was being held 4 days late thanks to heavy rains on a lousy fourth. As time passed I began to grow more and more differently than the other kids. Due to a messy divorce of the foolish humans I was so graciously gifted to, I bounced around from school to school, and place to place. I didn’t realize that not all people had the same things and not every person lived the same lifestyle. Eighth grade sucked and I legitimately want to forget all about it. My fourteenth year of life can be summed up in three words: braces, bully, beat down; the rest can be left up to the imagination. High school seemed like a phase. I just wanted to be in front of someone’s camera or on someone’s stage. I feel like I’m the most free to be myself when I’m pretending to be someone else. I hope that doesn’t make me crazy. I’m a rising third year, acting major and I’m happy with the life I fell into.

 

Tyler Diamond

Tyler Diamond

I am Tyler Diamond and I live in the Appalachian Mountains of Virginia in the small town of Warm Springs. My graduating class consisted of 11 students so it is safe to say that Los Angeles will be a change of pace. Presently, I am a junior, broadcast communications major. This summer I will intern with a production company in Los Angeles. One day I hope to become a major motion picture director or produce sports commercials. 

 

Susan Esrock

Susan Esrock

I am a rising senior corporate communications major and theatre minor. Born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri, I was originally supposed to attend Tulane University in New Orleans. Unfortunately Hurricane Katrina had different plans for me. It was a blessing in disguise however, because I could not be any happier at Elon.  I have known that I have wanted to move to LA and work in the entertainment industry for as long as I can imagine and this opportunity is definitely a dream come true.  

 

Rachael Fine

Rachael Fine

I am Rachael Fine and I am a rising senior BFA dance major from Remington, VA. Although I am not exactly sure what I want to pursue as a career, I know that I love to perform and entertain. I am extremely excited to venture to Los Angeles not only because I have never been farther west than the Florida panhandle, but also because I hope that it will help guide me in the right direction for a career pathway. I am looking forward to getting the full Los Angeles experience through Elon in LA!

 

Sam Gyllenhaal

Sam Gyllenhaal

I am a sophomore broadcast and new media major from Minneapolis, Minnesota. Some day, I want to produce music videos, comedy, or some type of entertainment television.  Outside of class, I like to play music with friends, and sing in Elon’s co-ed A Capella group, Twisted Measure.

 

Colin Havey

Colin Havey

When I look back and realize how far I’ve come, I look forward and realize how far I’ll go. Life is just a tiny trip in the strikingly infinite procession of time and yet each day is a chance to do something completely inimitable. I am 20 years young and my trip is only just getting truly underway. So there is nothing to write here for my bio – it’s content has not yet been realized. Instead, a poem: My name is Colin and I believe in art. I have two internships and can’t wait to start. One’s in TV and the other in movies, I really love mangos especially in smoothies. I’m from Boston, Mass. and I love it so, but I’m ready to rock and I’m ready to roll. So I’m off to L.A. for a fantasy summer – to work hard and learn so I won’t get dumber.  

 

Matt Heath

Matt Heath

I am a music technology major. My ultimate goal is to be a head sound engineer at a studio. I love music and music production. I am also a co-captain of the ultimate frisbee team at Elon and have been playing for 7 years.

 

 

LA_09_-25

Erik Keithley

I am a sophomore from Monkton, Md. I am very passionate about creative writing and music, and in my free time I enjoy songwriting and recording my own music. Someday I hope to publish a novel (the longest story I have so far is 38 pages), record a studio CD and write a screenplay.

 

LA_09_-17

Kristen Lueck

I am a rising junior and a  strategic communications major. I plan to minor in French and international studies. I am involved in the Public Relations Student Society of America and I am currently the secretary for this organization. I am also active in the American Advertising Foundation and a student run event planning and public relations agency, A Day with the Phoenix. I am interested in fashion and working in that industry upon graduation. I plan to finish my French minor by studying abroad in Paris and I am looking forward to living and interning in Los Angeles this summer. While in LA I hope to continue to build my portfolio by working on independent and group film and photography projects.

 

LA_09_-10

Chelsea Levalley

I want to experience the West Coast and explore the life of a screen actor/director this summer. It was the insane amount of collaboration inerrant in the art of filmmaking that two years ago lit a fire in me for film that here, amongst so creative of a community of students, is daily fanned to what could become a potentially life-changing flame. This summer I am interning at Disney Studios for Andrew Panay Films where I am assisting producer, Andrew Panay and his Creative Director and also at Extreme Makeover Home Edition where I am helping cast deserving families who will experience a change in the direction of their lives due to a change in their living environment.

 

Patrick McCabe

Patrick McCabe

I am  a 21-year-old from Burtonsville, Maryland and senior majoring in broadcast and entertainment. I’m involved in the Elon Phoenix Weekly, a weekly local sports show broadcast on ESPN2, the student newspaper and the Isabella Cannon Leadership Fellows Program. I hope to pursue a career in the entertainment industry.

 

Andy Newman

Andy Newman

I am a rising senior and a cinema major. My films usually contain a theme of colors relating to either the action on screen or music to amplify the mood. I began working with Final Cut in my freshmen year of high school and have found that it is my favorite artistic medium. Los Angeles will be an interesting opportunity for me to discover what the movie industry is like and how I might be able to fit into it.

 

LA_09_-8

Michael Pacicco

I am a rising junior majoring in broadcast & new media. My hobbies include playing lacrosse for the Elon University club team and playing the drums whenever I can. My career goals are production based and are still in the works. I would like to do production work in areas of music, television, or film, whichever one keeps me happy and moving in the right direction. I hope to pursue these dreams in Los Angeles when I graduate and know spending a summer there will help me get my foot in the door.

 

Jamie O'Brien

Jamie O'Brien

I am a rising senior and still not sure what I want to do when I go out into the real world after college, so that is what I am doing here in Los Angeles. I want to see if this is where I should be, working in the entertainment business with my love of music and film. I am interning at VH1’s Music Talent and Creative Development department. I have watched the channel since I was little and can’t wait to learn everything that goes on behind the scenes.

 

Courtney Ramery

I’m a rising senior, majoring in cinema. I’m from Fairfield, Connecticut but for the summer of 2009 I will be living in Los Angeles, California. I’m very easygoing, creative and compassionate. I’m currently interning at Extreme Home Makeover Edition for the summer. I’m very excited for all the opportunities that Los Angeles has to offer. 

 

Maria Jose "M.J." Soler

Maria Jose "M.J." Soler

Pretty chill, laid-back kind of girl. Never trying too hard to fit in. Constantly laughing, making fun of others. Usually stopping myself from falling into the temptations of shopping. Planning my next trip to NYC, the coolest place in the world. Listening to John Mayer, Lifehouse or Norah Jones. Always dreaming, even when I’m awake. Wishing a new episode of “The Soup” was on. Wondering when the new season of “Project Runway” is finally going to air. Excited to be going home to Honduras, even if it is for just a few weeks. Scared, yet thrilled about the new experiences this summer and the city of Los Angeles is going to bring. That’s me right now.  

 

Jeff Thurm

Jeff Thurm

I am a broadcast communications major going into my senior year. I have always had an interest in people watching and observing the world go by, which might explain my interest in reality television. Why write a script when you can put seven people in a house and see what happens? Born and raised in Potomac, Maryland I spent most of my childhood with friends sitting on my leather couch (and next to the remote control fire place, of course) wasting time, soaking in intelligent aspects of life including: how to hunt for ghosts, talk to dogs, deal with eight kids, and of course how to find love. I am interested in pursuing some sort of career in the entertainment and television industry, and would appreciate a job offer as soon as possible.  

 

Lauren Murphy

Lauren Murphy

I am currently a sophomore strategic communications major and Spanish minor. After graduation I hope to have a career in public relations or advertising. This summer I will be interning for the MTV press department where I hope to gain more knowledge about public relations and publicity. I think that this summer I will truly learn if I will like working in the entertainment industry in Los Angeles and I am extremely excited.

 

 

Chris White

Chris White

I am a graduate of Elon University with a bachelor of fine arts degree in theatre. I am extraordinarily happy to have the chance to be here in Los Angeles with all the other students.  During my time here I will be interning with the marketing department at Marvel Studios while taking an acting class with Marilyn Mcyntire at the Howard Fine Acting Studio. I am looking forward to an awesome summer in the place where I will be moving to very soon.

 

Matt Moroughan

Matt Moroughan

I am a media arts and entertainment major with a cinema concentration. In my professional career, I am pursuing directing and cinematography to impart my artistic vision to those who would enjoy screening it. Movies have always been my lifetime passion, and I find the field of narrative storytelling exhilarating. I wish to learn as many aspects of the craft as I can, and I especially enjoy the creative conception of ideas and seeing the initial thought slowly transform over the course of pre-production to the final cut.

 

Jordan McRae

Jordan McRae

Last night I realized something. I realized, it has taken Los Angeles, California to bring out the person in me that I always wanted to be. Or maybe its more of a new-found reassurance that I am being perceived by others the way I have always wanted to be perceived. Of course, I have been here just over a week and I think that I already have this city…this industry…this world, in the palm of my hand. The good news is, I know that I really don’t, but you have to make everyone think that you do, that’s the trick. At Elon University, I am a rising junior, a BFA Acting major, and a Political Science minor…in LA, I am just trying to figure it out.  

 

 


2 thoughts on “Introducing Elon in LA 2009

  1. Wow. Colin. That poem blew me away. Smoothies! Genius. It’s so simple, but in so few words it really gets to the heart of the matter. I’ll never look at a cup of Jamba Juice the same way again. Three cheers! I’ll be following your progress throughout the summer.

  2. It’s great to read about all of you and your plans. It sounds as if you are optimizing on the opportunities you have been given. Always remember how blessed you are to be where you are and don’t miss a precious moment of action – leverage it all to the hilt. You can sleep when you’re dead.

Leave a Reply

