Shut That Door + Future Project

I need to film something else before I leave for North Carolina.  It’s not that I want to, but NEED to.  I just got my feet wet making Shut That Door, but now it’s time to jump in completely. 

The cast and crew of Shut That Door deserve so much credit for making it the success that it is.  Energetic performances from Joanna, Chris White, Brandon, and Ashley contributed so much to its reception.  Places in the film that got laughs from the audience were not written in the script.  This is another lesson that I have to keep in mind; the fact that the actor has the final say in what will be funny and what will be thrilling.  

Simple moments, like Chris holding his hand out for a lighter in the car scene, were not written.  In fact, that moment was a fudge-up on my part, because we left with a pack of cigarettes and no lighter.  Working with what we had in the car with us, Brandon, Chris, and I still managed to turn out a scene that has become one of my favorites.  

My other favorite scene would have to be Joanna’s voiceover scene.  A slick score by Matt Heath mixed with a beautiful performance by Joanna added together to create a scene that stuck in everybody’s mind.  In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I am very proud to have produced and directed the noir scenes from the film.  

I am currently writing another script that I hope to have shot before we leave.  It will be a dark dystopian thriller, much like something that Terry Gilliam or Orson Welles would direct.  I’m excited about it, and you should be too.

Update:  the working title for this new project is “Detained.”

4 thoughts on “Shut That Door + Future Project

  1. I am so looking forward to seeing this project. I thought it was such a creative and fun idea and I have heard it is amazing!

Leave a Reply

