Back to where it all began…

The last time I was at the Falcon Theatre was 4 years ago and under completely different circumstances.  I was working there as an intern, fresh out of high school, after having just learned that my early decision school, Tulane University, would be closed for a semester as a result of Hurricane Katrina.  It was definitely a rough time for me.  I had a very hard time adapting to all of the changes the aftermath of the hurricane brought.  I wasn’t prepared or ready to deal with any of it. 

Looking back though, working at the Falcon Theatre was probably one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had.  Despite the circumstances that brought me there, I couldn’t have asked for a better internship.  I saw how a real theatre operates and was able to work under an industry legend, Garry Marshall.  I enjoyed going to work everyday and realized its possible that whatever I might end up doing for a living can actually be fun! 

Being back in LA, I knew I wanted to see a show there because I love that theatre but it took me awhile to muster up enough courage to do it.  I avoided the area since we’ve been in LA just because I didn’t know how I’d react to being back at the Falcon.  I feared it would remind me of all the turmoil back then or that it would make me miss the time I spent working there. 

It was definitely weird being back.  We got there early, so I was able to look around and take it all in.  I think I spent enough time mentally preparing myself that I was able to enjoy being back.  There’s a wall there that displays all the shows they’ve put on and it was such a thrill to see the shows there that I worked on!

The show we went to go see was great!  It was called “Fellowship!  the musical parody of ‘The Fellowship of the Ring'”.  One of the reasons I love the Falcon is because they do such original shows!  Evey second I was there I was reminded why I love and admire theatre in genral and how fortunate I am to say that I once worked at such an amazing venue!

Garry Marshall and I back in the day...

Garry Marshall and I back in the day...

Leave a Reply

