Los Angeles is Sweet

I’m finally here! My first week in LA has had its ups and downs, but I’ve loved every minute. Since I arrived last Saturday, I experienced two firsts–a Dodgers game and an acting class. My wonderful roommate, Lauren, and I have also spent our free time exploring and photographing the city.

Anyone who knows me knows that I am obsessed with ice cream. So, to be honest, the yogurt shops in LA have been one of my favorite parts of the experience. So far I have been to Pinkberry, Yogurtland, and Menchees. Yes, Pinkberry started the trend and has a cult following. I liked the other two better, though. Basically, you walk into each store, grab a cup (more like a bucket), and start filling it with yogurt and toppings. These stores have exotic flavors like taro and lychee, and you can try as many as you want before committing. Naturally, Lauren and I tried almost every flavor. Once you’ve decided, you fill your cup with yogurt and toppings and pay for it by the ounce. Delicious. I’ve already said more than once that Elon needs one of these yogurt stores. Any other recommendations?

This weekend will be just as exciting. Lauren and I are attending a Jimmy Kimmel Live taping (featuring Jessica Alba) tonight. Then, the entire group is making the trip to Santa Monica tomorrow. Below is a picture of Lauren and I posing with Marilyn Monroe on Hollywood Blvd.

Lauren and I being touristy with Marilyn Monroe.

One thought on “Los Angeles is Sweet

  1. If you migrate south to Orange County on some open weekend, be sure to visit Balboa Island, in Newport Bay. I used to live there in typical journalistic fashion — rented a one-bedroom apartment above my landlord’s garage. Lived there more than three years while I worked at nearby daily paper. Also played a lot of volleyball. Not a bad life for a while, but after realizing I was saving zero money, I took a job north, far from beaches but where I could get on with things.

    Hope you’re having great time. Methods chapter is good. We’ll work on specifics when you return. For now, learn and enjoy. After a summer in LA, you may understand me better. You’ll notice a lot of people there talk like me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

