What is the Truth?

Before this Friday, I had never seen an outside theatre performance, so I was intrigued by the Cornerstone Theatre (in the California Plaza on Grand Avenue), which is completely outdoors.  When Joanna told me that most of the actors in the “3 Truths” play we were about to watch, were really just people in the community and not trained actors, I was unsure of what to expect.

About two and a half hours later, I came away from very impressed by what I had just seen.  The actors delivered strong performances in a continuously changing play that flowed like a poetic stream of consciousness.  There were lines in both English and Spanish, which I enjoyed, being one who can speak both languages.

The play focused on several characters who dealt with serious issues such as sexual abuse, murder, grief and revenge and how there are 3 truths to any story: my truth, your truth, and “the” truth.  The characters spent the whole time of the play trying to find out what this third True truth was.  There were many intense scenes and high energy levels from the performers.  I can honestly say the play was like nothing I’d ever seen before and I liked it very much.

I didn’t take any pictures during the performance because I didn’t want my noisy shutter to distract the actors but here are a couple I took before we got started.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

