internship=found

It has taken exactly a week for Los Angeles to take me from clueless college sophomore to art gallery employee and graphic designer extraordinaire.  Well, sort of.  It all started this past Tuesday when my roommate, Lauren, had an interview at Nickelodeon.  Because my parents staunchly refuse to allow me to drive in Los Angeles, I took her interview as an opportunity to tag along on a trip to Santa Monica to search for an internship.

We left early enough for Lauren to accompany me on my search before her interview and after an hour-long battle with the ridiculous traffic on the roads, we arrived at a place that looked like an abandoned factory.  The only thing that reassured me that the GPS didn’t take us to a sweatshop was the fact that “Bergamot Station Arts Center” was printed on the entrance gate.  Contrary to its industrial outer appearance, the inside of Bergamot station was very “urban cool”.  I hate to use the word “artsy” but it really does apply in this situation.  Bergamot station is “artsy”.  It is an open-air facility that contains about 10 different art galleries, which feature all kinds of artwork, from photography to classical style paintings to unconventional, contemporary art.  There were also art installations on the walkways.  My two favorites were definitely a car that was filled with soil and had plants spilling out of the hood and all of the windows and the “people park”, which was located in the middle of the parking lot and featured a small, fenced-in square of grass with two park benches and four palm trees.  The sign on the gate read “People Park, please no pets”.  It was awesome.

As I explored Bergamot Station, I left my resume behind at each gallery that I went to.  As Lauren and I were getting ready to leave, I spotted one gallery, Galerie Anaîs, that we hadn’t gone into.  After a minute of waffling back and forth on whether or not I should go in, I decided it wouldn’t hurt to leave one more resume.   Upon entering the gallery, I saw colorful paintings on the wall that resembled images that had been pixellated on the computer.  I approached the two women behind the front desk and asked them if they needed any interns.  Their faces both lit up and they both began stumbling over eachother’s words asking me questions .  What was my major, how long was I here, did I expect to be paid, did I like art, when could I work.  When I finally found an opening in their torrent of questions, I asked them if they wanted me to leave my resume with them.  They told me I didn’t have to because I had the job.  Awesome.

I’ve worked in the gallery every day this past week.  The two women who I work for have given me tasks ranging from entering emails into the computer to designing the postcard for the new art exhibit and business cards for each of them.  I’ve had to teach myself how to use Photoshop, which has been an experience.  I’m really enjoying the work and learning how an art gallery functions. I’ve also met the new artist that we’re getting in later this month and got a chance to talk to him about how he creates his art and where he gathers his inspiration.  Its been pretty exciting and I’m looking forward to my summer working there.

One thought on “internship=found

  1. Pingback: internship=found « Elon In Los Angeles | Artist News

Leave a Reply

