The Bourgeois Pig

Los Angeles is a world of it’s own.  Similarly to most of my fellow students I am an East Coast boy born and raised.  I have always lived in the suburbs and never really had interest in living in a city when I graduate and look for a career path.  Over the course of a week my perspective has changed.

I don’t know yet whether I want to live and work in a city later in life but in just a week I have learned to no longer avoid city-life.  It’s true what the media shows, life in an urban environment is fast-paced and often long, busy workdays.  I used to dislike the idea of such a life-style but after taking a few days to get accustomed to it, I could certainly see myself living in a city like Los Angeles.  But when stress gets high,\ and the world seems too chaotic and frustrating we all need somewhere to get away.  Unfortunately the beach is a fairly long drive and typically beaches can be very touristy areas.  Through the first week I had not found a haven to remove myself from the rest of the city where I could read, write, and simply take some quiet time to reflect on things.  Just a few nights ago, our faculty member on the trip J Mcmerty was generous enough to take my roommate Clinton and me to a small coffee shop in Hollywood called the “Bourgeois Pig.”

When you hear coffee shop, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, and the like come to mind.  The Bourgeois Pig is nothing like those “fast-paced” shops where you can get in, get a drink and get out.  The atmosphere is unorthodox with a blue tint to the main room and wild decorations everywhere you turn.  In the back is a room called the “forest room” which I would compare to the Rainforest Cafe but about 10x more realistic.  Immediately walking into the Bourgeois Pig, some of the difficulties of the day melt away and stresses are no longer at the forefront of your mind.  It is a place that allowed me to take a step back and just reflect on the day.  I can see myself going back 3 time a week or more just to relax and take a break from the high paced life of the city.  Thanks to J for taking me.  If you ever find yourself in L.A. I highly reccommend looking it up and visiting yourself to see if you too can connect with the Muse.

Pictures were all found online through google

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here is a link to reviews of the Bourgeois Pig in L.A.

2 thoughts on “The Bourgeois Pig

  1. You’re close to Griffith Park – really close. Largest urban park w/ lots of natural habitat, but still has 2 large public golf courses. Griffith observatory is there. Lots of other things, too, but lots of open space and trails and horsebackriding…about 10 minutes from Oakwood. Have fun!! Marilyn

    • Thanks Marilyn! I will definitely look into some of the things there. I have been to the Observatory and I loved it. I was only able to stay for a short time so I know I will be going back to see it again soon.

Leave a Reply

