At This Present Time…

A brief, brief tidbit of backstory information before I begin: Magical Elves, the company I’m interning with, is the brain-child of founders Dan Cutforth and Jane Lipsitz.

Today is Jane Lipsitz’s husband’s birthday.  I happen to know what she got him (a brand new iPad), because I was the one who wrapped it.  The honors were given to me by a production assistant.

“Are you good at wrapping presents?” he asked.

“Yes,” I said.  More like lied.

Wrapping presents is a simple enough task, no?  But for me, it’s like dancing: I may like doing it but in reality, I’m no good at it at all.  I just can never get a wrapped present to look as neat and clean as other people can.  But I decided to wrap it anyway.  It took me three times to get it right–first time was too bulky, second time I accidentally ripped a hole in the paper.  You might ask: why waste so much time trying to wrap a present?  Like, who cares? It’s only going to be ripped to shreds later…

I took my time to get it right because even though I realise it’s a very small task, it’s something that I can do to the best of my ability.  If I’m going to wrap a present for the company owner’s husband, then it better be the best bloody wrapping job anyone’s ever done.  I really believe having that kind of attitude for the small things translates into bigger things as well, and over time, my conscientiousness will speak for itself.  I may not know how to wrap a present well….but by God, I will try!

Leave a Reply

