“But my view from the Hollywood Roosevelt makes me feel like I can fly…”

This week has been pretty ridiculous (as I’m sure everyone’s has). I have two internships: “The Backstage Artist Lounge” and “Extreme Makeover: Home Edition.”

The BAL is a company that sets up luxury lounges at the back of rock concerts and hands out free swag to rock stars. I am the only guy that works in the office and my bosses are all twenty-something rocker chicks. My job there is basically to organize pictures and videos, as well as create pamphlets for sponsors. Everyone has been really welcoming and I’ve already come home with a bunch of free stuff.

“Extreme Makeover: HE” has been a really interesting and fun job. Things are a bit more formal there but it’s been interesting to learn the behind the scenes process that goes into making an episode. My job is to sort through mail and decide which applicants deserve a house or not. It’s sad to watch all the videos and realize not everyone can get a house but at the same time I know when I’m making copies or filing that I’m helping a family in need out there somewhere.

My favorite part of LA has to be shopping and food. There are so many choices of places to go and it’s a lot different than North Carolina. The worst part is definitely the traffic. I spent 3 hours in the car the other day trying to get to work. I now understand LA road rage.

-David James

Leave a Reply

