Independence.

Two weeks of class have already gone by and our most recent production assignment was to tell a story using just three photos. I came up with a lot of different ideas and thought of ways I could create a story, but after spending the day in Santa Monica, I realized that I didn’t even have to create a story – I could just document one of the thousands of stories playing out around me.

I ultimately chose a coming of age story that shows how a little girl gains independence while spending the day with her father at the beach. Nina is 4 years old, and has been practicing walking back and forth on the balance beam, saying “again, again!” and each time with guidance from her father. On her last walk of the day, she flies solo and walks without any help from her father.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Independence.

Leave a Reply

