Piers, Tiers, LA Fears

I’ve never been to the West coast before.  Heck, I’ve never even blogged before this.  However, it’s been a dream of mine to travel out to LA shortly after I held my first video camera in elementary school.  After that moment, I immediately put down my basketball as well as my dreams of becoming a WNBA all-star for a more logical, relaxed lifestyle: pursuing a career in the entertainment industry.

Looking back on earlier days, after I purchased a video camera circa the 5th grade, I thought that I was pretty unstoppable while I tried to film my gnarly moves on my Pokemon skateboard (yeah, I know) a la true Rocket Power homage.  Even while visiting the Santa Monica pier last weekend, a pier loosely tied to the one found on Rocket Power, I was taken back to those innocent, knee-scrapped days where all you wanted to do was land an ollie.  …One day…  Getting back to my original point: facing a dream of yours, whether it be something that you’ve fantasized about since childhood or whether it frightens your pants off, can help illustrate what it is that you really want, and what kind of vitality it’ll fire in you in order to obtain such aspirations.

I found this quote on a magnet at Arc Light Cinemas last week (for those who haven’t yet, go see MICMACS) that has since eased any feelings of intimidation I had before coming out here:

“The world is not respectable; it is mortal, tormented, confused, deluded forever; but it is shot through with beauty, with love, with glints of courage and laughter; and in these, the spirit blooms…” – George Santayana

Santa Monica Pier

One thought on “Piers, Tiers, LA Fears

Leave a Reply

