Live Tapings Part 1: Melissa and Joey

In the past four days I’ve spent 7 hours in television studios. This past friday, Lexi, Cameron, and I attended a taping of the new ABC Family series “Melissa and Joey” starring Melissa Joan Hart and Joey Lawrence. I grew up on “Clarissa Explains It All” and Lexi grew up on “Brotherly Love” so it we were having serious childhood flashbacks. The story centers around a Mel who is a political figure of some kind in town (can’t remember her job) who takes her niece and nephew into her home after her sister and brother in law are put in jail. Joey is a business man who’s money was squandered by mel’s brother in law and now lives with mel and the kids as a nanny. The show was surprisingly funny and surprisingly suggestive for an ABC Family show. It took about 5 hours to film in total and while there were times when I thought I couldn’t laugh anymore, our warm up comedian woke us up and kept us giggling and clapping. They gave us free pizza and candy which kept our energy up too. One of the coolest aspects of the taping was that Joey’s brother Matt and Andrew were in the audience as well; it was nice to see them supporting their brother. The cast goofed around and kept spirits up even after hours and hours of filming. A sitcom taping can be really fun and give you a great behind the scenes experience but make sure you eat a big meal before heading in because you’ll be in those seats for hours.

Melissa Joan Hart and Joey Lawrence

2 thoughts on “Live Tapings Part 1: Melissa and Joey

  1. I just watched the first two episodes of Melissa and Joey and I love it! I grew up watching Sabrina the teenage witch and Brotherly love. I love to their shows. I didn’t know the show was taped in front of a live audience and I would love to go see a taping. How do I get tickets and how much do they cost?

  2. I am really interested in attending a taping of this show. I grew up watching all the shows they were in and I love this one! I live in the O.C. I would really appreciate any help you can give with getting to see a live taping of this! Thanks a Million!

Leave a Reply

