A Lesson on Networking

I’m usually deemed an introvert. That’s why I was surprised when I found it surprisingly easy to “mingle” with the “professionals” at the after-party for LAFF’s closing event, the premier of Despicable Me. Upon arrival, I soon found myself standing in a crowded group of filmmakers and producers, discussing my documentary and spouting off various loglines and pitches at breakneck speed, all the while hoping one of them would actually find my thoughts about cinema verite and modern realism intriguing to remember my name past our brief encounter.

In the end, some of us exchanged emails and business cards (no, of course I don’t have one), and I left hoping I had not made a total ass of myself for talking so damn much. Oddly enough, I’ve gotten a few emails since then and I’ve already been offered a position as a camera operator/sound tech  on a 2-week webisode filming (there is someone of notoriety attached to the project) starting next week. The only way I can move out to LA when I graduate is if there’s a job in it, and making contacts now is the best way to further that process. 

I have high hopes for my freestyle projects. I’ve decided to create an experimental music video for a song I wrote a few years ago. I won’t go into details, but look for it in the near future. 

Until we meet again.
In the meantime, enjoy some of my boys from B-more, Animal Collective.

Leave a Reply

