Fine and Fierce, not so Fresh

So working at Hippo Works has really been a good influence on me, environmentally speaking. I’ve learned more about conservation and reducing my carbon footprint through both research and through my boss, Denis’s, lifestyle than I ever thought I would in my whole life. I mean honestly, I knew that it was good both for your wallet and the environment to shut the lights or any other appliance when you weren’t using it, as well as water. I wouldn’t consider myself to be a “green” expert… until a few days ago… when we had NO WATER!!

So needless to say, after a couple of mere hours of no water… I immediately went into panic mode. And then after I realized that there are people in this world who don’t have clean water or even water for that matter, I started to worry because I was panicking at the fact that I literally didn’t know how to live without water. This was conservation at its truest.

So did I cry about? No because I wouldn’t have had any water to wash off my running mascara. Did I blog about it immediately? No because I didn’t want to slander Oakwood’s name. Instead I pulled myself together, remembered what Hippo Works teaches, and went and took a shower at my friend Corey’s. Hey… I went three days without washing my hair, and if that’s what I have to do in order to prove that I am down with being eco-friendly, then so be it.

So I guess my point is, is that you can talk the talk all day long, but be careful, because when you’re least expecting it, you’re gonna have to walk the walk.

Leave a Reply

