When I Grow Up?

I think some of the most valuable opportunities I have had on this trip have been when I get to speak with and listen to various professionals in the field of communications.  Both at my internship and in the public relations class I have met people that really inspire me to pursue a career in communications. After our meeting with Lauren Tobin, founder of Panther PR, I came away with some important advice.

Lauren said that you should make a career out of something that you love, that way you will always love your work.  This really stuck with me because right now I am at a point where I know I want to work in communications, but what does that really even mean?  Communications is such a broad field and I haven’t quite found my place in it yet.  My internship is great because I get to do a little bit of everything, marketing, advertising, event planning and PR.  I really LIKE everything I work on but I am still searching for work that I LOVE and I am committed to my quest.

I came to LA this summer hoping to figure out what I want to be when I grow up, which will be a harsh reality when I graduate next May, but what I’m really figuring out is that I never want to grow up! Haha, No, but aside from that I’ve learned that in order to keep the little kid in me alive I need to choose my career wisely and not settle for just anything.  My future job needs to be something I love and will be happy doing for a long time.  I may not have it totally figured out yet but I am definitely getting closer.  I am so lucky to have the opportunity to listen to how other people broke into their careers, and hopefully one day I’ll be able to share my story with a young college student who is, for lack of better words, totally clueless.

Leave a Reply

