First Times and Reflections

I seriously can’t believe we only have a week and a half left in Los Angeles. Where did the time go? Between general insights from J McMerty, the Elon in LA program and the people in it, the public relations class with Brad Lemack, my internships with Extreme Makeover: Home Edition and stylist, Kendrick Osorio, I have learned more this summer than I imagined possible. I had many firsts and new experiences. I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on a few of them:

  1. First time having a roommate – When I first got to LA, I faced one fear right away: meeting new people. I didn’t really know anyone coming out here, so when I arrived at the apartment late at night, everyone was asleep. I barely knew any one. Fortunately, Nneka was a fantastic “roomie” and I really had nothing to worry about.
  2. First time seeing a live taping – I got to see Jimmy Kimmel Live! with guest, Jessica Alba, Chelsea Lately, and the Tonight Show with Jay Leno. All were fantastic shows.
  3. First time getting a parking ticket – I think a handful of us have gotten a parking ticket once or twice since we have been out here. Let it be known the police do not let you off easy and the tickets are expensive!
  4. First time being completely independent – I thought moving to North Carolina for Elon was a big deal, but in reality it’s nothing compared to this experience. Taking a class, interning, and taking care of oneself (i.e figuring out each meal and actually cooking) is hard work!
  5. First time feeling like a true grown up – I relate this feeling to my internship that involves working as a personal assistant and eBay-extraordinaire for Kendrick Osorio.  I feel like I’ve become his sidekick in several aspects. For example, I have hired a team of over eight interns for my boss, and unfortunately had to let a few go.  Going through resumes and the interview process as the employer was a true learning experience (look for that blog about later).

I don’t feel like I have just completed internships this summer – given everything, from the responsibilities and expectations, to who I spoke with, to what I learned from each experience – I feel like this summer is an accurate glimpse at what my life could potentially be. It certainly makes me wonder about the future and what’s next.

Leave a Reply

