Criminal Minds

Once upon a time, there was a young girl who downloaded music illegally. One day, the feds contacted her and asked her to stop.  At age 11, the threat of going to jail was very frightening indeed, and so the little girl got an iTunes account. THE END.

As hard as it may be for some of my friends and colleagues to hear, I was that little girl. I know, it’s disturbing. Since the end of my Napster days, I’ve felt a little self-righteous about music downloading. While most of my friends are downloading there music for free from Limewire and other venues, here I am, good-natured gal that I am, sucking up the $1.99 cost per song. After we had Amanda Cagan visit our class, however, I’m not feeling so good about myself.

Although downloading from iTunes is entirely legal, and the artists and their labels consent to the act, the music industry still takes a huge hit due to the infiltration of Internet downloading. Even when I’m paying for the music I download, it’s still only a small fraction of the price that goes to the artists themselves, particularly in that I rarely buy entire albums. As of right now, I can’t really afford to change my habit entirely, but I will definitely reconsider when it comes to artists that I am particularly happy to support.

Leave a Reply

