What I Learnt about LA This Summer

  1. Parking sucks. And it would be wise to always carry change on your person, in case you need to use meters.
  2. Traffic isn’t a mad jungle of six-lane s worth of highway vehicles trying to kill you in their road rage.  If you are smart driver, you shouldn’t run into problems.  But you better get used to getting stuck in traffic for a loooooooong time.  If you only have to drive 2.3 miles away, you had better leave half an hour before you need to be there.
  3. LA is glamorous but not so much as you would think (IE: if you have my luck, you won’t just bump shoulders with celebrities casually walking down the Hollywood Strip).  On the other hand, if you have Lauren Kenney’s luck, then you won’t even need to look for celebrities because they will come looking for YOU.
  4. The beaches are nice but the waters are COLD.  As in, freezing.
  5. LA frozen yogurt > NC frozen yogurt.

Besides these things, I have learnt something crucial this summer.  I have done things I never thought I could do and have realised I am more capable and independent than I give myself credit for.  I didn’t think I’d be able to handle car insurance issues without my parents’ help, but I did.  I didn’t think I’d be able to maneuver through LA traffic and learn my way around, but (thanks to a GPS) I did. Given that this summer was my first internship experience, I had no idea what to expect or what to do but I have managed to do well.

To any Elon student who may be reading this now, I would like to encourage you to do the Elon in LA summer program if you get the chance.  You will want to know for yourself what it is like and despite whatever I or anyone else can tell you, you won’t know if it is good for YOU unless you try it on your own.  And there is nothing to give you independence like living here for 9 weeks, where you are responsible for getting yourself to and from a work environment and acting professionally.  It’s definitely more of a real-world glimpse than what you are going to get in college.  It challenges you to grow up more than you ever thought possible.

Leave a Reply

