Universal Studios Hollywood

As our time here in LA is coming to a close, a lot of us are feeling that we didn’t have enough time to do everything we wanted to. I am very much a kid and at the top of my “To Do” list was to visit Disney and Universal. Two Fridays ago I went to Disney, and then last Friday I was able to go to Universal. It is extremely different from the Universal you would find in Florida.

First of all, Universal here is an active, working production lot. While we were visiting they were filming scenes for the show Parenthood. During the studio tour, we even learned that the students sometimes get to use the Universal backlot as a location for their own productions. The theme park itself was much smaller because so much of the space was being used for other productions.

While I will always be a huge Disney fan, I love Universal so much more. The environment I feel is so much more laid back and of course it’s all about movies! As a cinema major, it is hard not to enjoy this. I loved watching all the shows and getting to see how they create certain shots, whether it is by training animals, using special effects, etc. Overall, it was a great trip and I recommend that everyone go.

Leave a Reply

