thoughts on Super 8

Of the movies that I have watched thus far on the trip, my favorite is Super 8.  Though initially unsure of the movie due to the extremely cryptic advertisements, I was really impressed with the child actors, the distinctly JJ Abrams vibe, and tributes to Steven Spielberg and his movies like E.T.Close Encounters, and some others.  It was a lot of fun to see the cast making their zombie movie The Case, and the creative ways they incorporated their surroundings into it.  For example, the epic train crash became a means to spread the virus and they end up having real (well, “real”) Air Force investigating in background.

I ended up watching the movie twice, and I liked it more the second time.  The first time I watched it, the ending didn’t feel genuine enough to me – it felt a bit much.  At the same time, I wasn’t entirely sure HOW you would end it in any other satisfactory way; I feel like nothing would have really satisfied me.  The second time I appreciated it more, for whatever reason.  The symbolism felt more real?  I don’t know.

In any case, I thought it was thoroughly enjoyable, well written, and well acted by a very young cast.  It was also a lot of fun to see the finished amateur film during the credits.

Super 8 IMDB

Leave a Reply

