How to Know You’re Somebody

Thursday night, I tagged along with my bosses to the opening performance of Ballet Nacional de Cuba‘s Don Quixote at the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion.

As we were handing out tickets to the critics who were invited, I noticed one man receiving a little more attention from my bosses and the people surrounding us than the others.

The man looked like he was in his mid/late ’60s, and did not crack a smile once despite all of the people fawning over him. More importantly, he would not have seemed out of the ordinary if he hadn’t have been wearing a black leather jacket with a psychadelic design, and dress shoes that were completely covered in sequins… and I don’t mean subtle shiney detail- these shoes looked like they hopped out of a bad 70’s disco scene .

Of course, this man wasn’t receiving special attention by the people around me because of his interesting outfit choice, even though this seemed like a logical reason to me since I couldn’t stop staring. It turned out that this glittery man was actually the most important writer at the ballet, and was very well known for his position at the LA Times as a dance critic.

All I have to say is, I hope one day I can wear whatever I want and still have people drooling over my every word.

Who would have known a man clothed in sequins would earn so much respect for his opinion?

Leave a Reply

