Malibu is where I want to be

Waking up yesterday to endless sunshine and a cloudless sky, we decided it was the perfect day to head to the beach. Choosing to go to Malibu, we rallied the troops and began the hour-long trek to the coast. Luckily a large part of the trip is spent driving through gorgeous mountains that give you the impression that you’re in Colorado rather than California. After some long and slightly frightening winding roads on the edge of a cliff, we finally saw the water. On the way to the beach we drove by Pepperdine University and it is without a doubt the most beautiful campus I have ever seen. I can’t imagine how the students can ever focus with some of the best beaches in the country literally right at their feet. After getting only slightly lost, we found our way to Point Dume. Driving through neighborhoods to find parking we even got a glimpse of my first and hopefully not my last celebrity sighting of the summer: Owen Wilson walking his dog in front of his house. Unfortunately by the time we pulled back around to get a picture and maybe ask for directions, he had disappeared back into his house. Eventually we made it to the beach after hiking down the side of a cliff and the view was breathtaking. The water was gorgeous and the feeling of the sand between my toes was incredible. The area we were at was very secluded and taken up primarily by surfers so it was easy to find a big plot of sand to take over. We were able to spend the next few hours basking in the sunlight and working on our tans (at least I tried). It’s safe to say that if I ever end up moving to California, Malibu is where I’m headed. Come visit me in my house on the edge of the cliff overlooking the water!

Leave a Reply

