Make New Friends, but Keep the Old

Last weekend, I met up with one of my best friends from childhood.  Erin and I met in kindergarten.  We lead the Butterfly Parade, played Barbies and watched Spice World.  We enjoyed being in Ms. Aliopoulis’ class for two years, battled through Ms. Paul in fifth grade, and at the end of the year, Erin moved to California. Thanks to Facebook, (and Myspace when that was mildly socially acceptable to have them) we kept in touch.

I spent a day in Santa Monica with my mom, sister, and her mother when I was in 7th grade, and she told me I HAD to get these weird boots called Uggs.  I thought they were atrocious.  4 months later, I asked my mom for Uggs.  In high school, Erin went to Lollapalooza and we met up again.  We had lunch, caught up, and went down memory lane.

So when I arrived in LA, I had to meet up with her.  My dad even emailed hers to give him a heads up that I was in town.  So last week, we went to a pool party at The Standard Downtown.  It was remarkable how well we still got along even though we haven’t hung out in years.  We talked about our elementary school classmates, and of course took a picture to show our parents.  At the end of the day, I realized how important it is to keep in touch with people from your past.  And not just in case they become famous, but because sometimes it can be so easy to reconnect.  And, having an old friend tell you where the best shopping is in LA is def a perk.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

