Hi my name is Rachel and I procrastinate.

It has been a long time since my first blog, roughly 4 weeks since the start of my journey. Please bear with me while I sort through all of my memories thus far in Los Angeles. I found myself questioning where to start or what to talk about first. I am going to try to give you the written assessment of my time here.
Well for starters, my internship at JusCollege has been going very well. I work Tuesday through Thursday, with Fridays off. I am learning a great deal about business, public relations and an added bonus, myself. I am bettering my social media and blogging skills on a daily basis. I am also fortunate for the opportunity to observe an up-and-coming business on their day-to-day plans and decision-making process. I was able to interview the CEO and COO for a blog I wrote on entrepreneurs and small businesses. I learned so much about their experiences that led them to JusCollege, how they have managed to run JusCollege, and future plans for the company. It is so interesting learning from people that are my own age who have pursed an idea and made it into a reality.
Aside from work, I have been trying to make my way around this beautiful state. I have been to Zuma beach in Malibu, Laguna Beach, and Newport Beach. This is no denying the beauty in this state. Every where you turn you have the beautiful mountains in the distance, blue skies above, and an almost guaranteed perfect weather breeze upon your face. I say- get rid of this whole traffic nonsense, parking problems, smog, poverty, and add a few more smiling faces around- you could call this place heaven.
I have recently picked up a new challenging workout regime: bikram yoga. Granted, I no longer pursue this newly added workout plan, I was very proud of myself for trying. Bikram yoga is also known as hot yoga, Deirdre Walsh and I attempted this challenging 90-minute yoga session in a 110-degree room, 3 times a week. If only I had the stamina of a professional athlete and had the time and ability to hydrate myself with a gallon of water a day, I would continue to do it. I did find it to be very difficult, but in all seriousness would like to pursue it again in the future when I can dedicate more time to it.
As far as my life in general goes, I continue to impress myself with small achievements I make on a daily basis. Getting to work on time everyday, with even a few minutes to spare. Controlling my road rage and temper while driving with, in my opinion, the worst drivers I have ever seen. Sorry to make such a bold stereotype, and for the record I am not saying all California drivers are bad, but the drivers I have seen here, frankly suck. In addition to the sucky driving skills, there is traffic everywhere. Ultimately leaving me no choice but to recite positive thoughts out loud and practice breathing exercises. “Rachel you will be ok.” “So what if that person just cut you off, they are probably a great friend.” This alone has been one of my greatest accomplishments thus far.

Leave a Reply

