Rolling With the Punches

At the start of this program I had two internships, now I have one.  I was interning with the production company Film 44 until last week.  They called me to say that they were, unfortunately, ending their summer intern program and letting all six interns go.  All of our duties would be assigned to production assistants.  That was it.  Two weeks, and it was over.

That was the first time anything like that had happened to me, I wasn’t sure how to react.  Basically, all I could say was, “Well that sucks.”  Not the most articulate response, but it was the first thought that came to mind.  This thought was quickly followed by if I was going to have enough hours from my second one.  Do I have to go back to searching for a second?

Thankfully, this uncertainty didn’t last more than a few days.  My boss at 3D-4U was quick to offer me more days at my other internship, more than enough to get the amount needed.  I did enjoy my brief time at Film 44, but now I have to move on.  As abrupt as the ending was, I learned a lot in the few days I was there.  Now it’s time to focus solely on the world of 3D.

Leave a Reply

