Animals and Adventures

If there’s one thing that I can claim to be true, it’s that I love the zoo. For a long time when I was younger, I wanted to be a biologist – and then I found out to do that you had to take a lot of science classes, and promptly changed my career aspirations to film. All better in the long run, I think, but my love of animals has stayed. So naturally, I’ve been on my roommates about going to the zoo from the first week we got here. Not the LA Zoo (I’ve heard sad, depressing stories about that zoo), but the San Diego Zoo, which I had heard was one of the best zoos in the country, nee the world. Needless to say, I wasn’t disappointed. Other than the traffic on the way there, everything went my way for the rest of the day. There were thousands of animals, in awesome habitats, great opportunities for photos, and not incredibly crowded. After about an hour even the weather cooled down. We saw gorillas, and lions, and monkeys, and reptiles, and one “awww” inducing moment where a mama hippo was rolling her baby hippo around in the water because it couldn’t quite swim yet. We also got to meet some Giant Pandas, in one of only 4 Giant Panda exhibits in the world. Animal Conservation is very important to me because I feel deeply connected to nature and animals, and think that those things are some of the most beautiful parts of our existence. So I appreciate the efforts of the San Diego zoo and other conservationists in preserving things that might soon be lost from our world forever because of human interaction. Overall, I was completely pleased with our day at the zoo. If you ever get the chance, head to the San Diego Zoo and surrounding environs. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

