Meals on Wheels

This past week at my MTV internship, I had the opportunity to do some volunteer work.  One of my coworkers volunteers every other week with the Meals on Wheels organization in Santa Monica and he invited me to go along for the day.  We had 8 stops to bring hot meals and milk to elderly or recovering people who are unable to get the proper nutrition themselves.  Whether they are unable or unwilling to leave their homes, Meals on Wheels has saved people’s lives and gives a helping hand to those are unable to help themselves. During my travels I met some interesting people.  One older woman used to be an actress back in the 40s and 50s and had just received a letter from her great niece in England.  The letter enclosed a picture of her from her acting days and she was shocked to find that she could see all the fun she used to have on the computer!  I’ve been doing a little research for her so that hopefully next time my coworker can bring her some information on her old acting days. My coworker loves volunteering and  has brought along many of the people in our department on his runs.  It was definitely one of my favorite days at my internship!

Check out some of the awesome people that they help out every week!

Leave a Reply

