New Friends

Coming out here this summer, I really didn’t know one single person who was doing the program.  I knew of a few people and had done a couple of films with Liv, who was going to be one of my roommates, but other than that, I did not know one soul.  This would normally be fun for me- meeting new people and making new friends, but the fact that I was going to be living in a city where I have never been, I was so scared.  I didn’t want to be alone and didn’t want to end up doing things by myself with the fear of getting lost or getting in some sort of trouble.  Needless to say, I was afraid that I wouldn’t make friends in the program.

When the program began, it seemed like everyone already knew each other.  Everyone seemed to have had classes with people before or people knew each other from Greek Life at school.  I knew no one, except one of my roommates.  Everyone already seemed to be building and making friendships and I did not seem to fit in or be a part of them. (#sadgirl). Sorry for the twitter reference.

Anyway, after being so worried about not making friends, guess what? I MADE SOME OF THE BEST FRIENDSHIPS EVER! I don’t know why I was so worried, but I didn’t need to be.  I made some of the best friends I will ever have out here.  I have no hesitation to say that these people are some of my best friends that I will keep for the rest of my life.  I cannot wait to experience these friendships back at Elon, (wait, we all went to school together?) and cannot wait to see how much stronger they grow and what is in for our future.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

