Witnessing a Drive-By Shooting

In Hollywood, nothing is real of course.  Like the title of this post says, I did in fact witness a drive-by shooting, except it was for a scene in the television show The Closer.  When I was driving to work the other day, huge movie lights on the street corner caught my eye.  As I passed by, I noticed there was a shoot going on in a café.  I was so curious and really wanted to pull over and watch, but I had to get to work.  When I got to Panavision I mentioned to my advisor and a couple of my co-workers what I saw and how fascinated I was.  Little did I know it would be a slow day at work and my advisor would grant me permission to check out the shoot for a bit.  I jumped at this opportunity and walked right down the street to see exactly what they were shooting.  I couldn’t have been more excited because I had never actually seen a real shoot going on, especially one on a familiar street.  After talking to the LAPD and some PA’s on the street I learned that they were shooting a scene for The Closer, which involved a drive-by shooting.  It was definitely a neat first time experience seeing a set.

 

Leave a Reply

