Down the Rabbit Hole

Everything here moves so much more quickly than I’m used to, but I have to say its a welcome change of pace. I see a lot of things I wouldn’t see much at home; I’m not really bothered by that. The city is a continuously shifting piece of artwork, from the masterful graffiti splashed across the buildings to the colorful people moving through the cityscape. There is always something visually, aurally or intellectually interesting happening, and the city seems to welcome the vibrant displays of life and expression that grace its streets, as do I. Now that i got that little bit of poetry out of my system, the overall point is that the experience here has been fantastic ( and a bit surreal) so far. I love the city and my internship at Urban Icon TV as well. How could I not when I get to go out on the streets of LA with an incredible camera as my job? I was nervous the first day I showed up, but things quickly got comfortable as my work team accepted me with open arms. I was immediately given a lot more responsibility than I expected, with duties ranging from collecting B-roll at various points throughout the city to being tasked with having a part in creating a new show! The best thing I got to do was travel to Vegas with a work team to get an exclusive interview with up and coming dubstep sensation David Hiller, who won a contest that earned him a place in the Electric Daisy Carnival 2012 Lineup! Seriously check this kid out on Soundlcoud, he plays drums to his tracks on stage! I am learning so much while being treated as a crew member and an equal, and could not be more thankful for the opportunity to work at Urban Icon. Although we are a small company as of now, keep on eye on us. There’s a lot of good stuff in the works.

The View

Leave a Reply

