Hitting the Ground Running

Thus far, my LA experience has been nothing short of a whirlwind. I started out my internship at Caliber Media with a lot of script coverage, mail running, scanning and copying like a madwoman. Even though I am coming off of four months at a casting agency in Dublin, I have felt completely out of my element on the production/management end of the industry. I had only ever read 2 scripts before in my life and suddenly I was being asked for detailed breakdowns and opinions on every script that I was reading. This was a lot to get used to, but I was enjoying it.

At the end of my first week, I found out that the talent manager’s assistant, who hired me, was leaving to pursue his interest in production. Suddenly, I was being trained to take over his responsibilities, which were completely different from what I was doing before. I am now in direct contact with actors and casting agents, I’m reading and answering emails and fielding calls. All with only two days of training. It was kind of stressful at first, but I had my first full day on my own today and it went extremely well and I’ve learned so much already. In this new role, I feel much more a part of the organization than I did before, which is probably my favorite part of the experience so far and I am excited to see where this takes me.

Leave a Reply

