I Survived the L.A. Film Festival

It’s crazy to think that I’ve been living and interning in Los Angeles for about 3 weeks now. The summer’s going by a lot quicker than I thought it would, but I’m definitely making it count! I started interning with Film Independent in first week of June. My internship is with the Festival Event Coverage department, because Film Independent produces the Los Angeles Film Festival every year. The festival is the one big annual film festival that takes place actually in the entertainment capital, seeing as most festivals are held in other places around the country, and across the world. My responsibilities during the festival (which just wrapped yesterday) included interviewing and shooting footage of red carpet premieres, director/actor Q&A’s, introductions to film screenings, and other speeches/events. I then had to edit the footage and create highlight videos for the different events, and then post them to Film Independent’s YouTube page. The festival was a fantastic experience. I had the privilege of meeting and gaining advice from some well-known industry professionals, the most notable being film score composer Rolfe Kent and director Ava DuVernay. I also had the privilege of seeing advanced screenings of films such as Robot and Frank, Searching for Sugarman, and shooting a Q&A at the premiere of Aaron Sorkin’s “The Newsroom.” So, it’s been a crazy couple weeks to say the least. Now that the festival’s over, I plan on actually exploring L.A. and diving right into my writing/producing/directing debut with one of the program’s student films. I will be editing a sizzle reel with Film Independent, highlighting the festival. After that’s done, I’ll be looking for another internship or some P.A. work on some sets. More updates to come!

In the meantime, if you’d like to see my red carpet debut, check out this video!

Leave a Reply

