Throwing Myself Out There

The Original Gold’s Gym!

So much has happened in the last week! At the beginning of the summer, the actors were told to choose a monologue and we have been working on it for the past few weeks. I have been struggling with overcoming my self-consciousness when I stand up in front of other people to perform, but I know that each time I throw myself out there I will only get more confident and comfortable. Coming out here to do this program alone was such a drastic step for me. I got to work with two of the production guys and we really had a great time filming the scene. After location scouting for a long time we decided to throw some money together for a cheap hotel room and film there.

For the scene, I was upset with a boyfriend who did not love me back and I made the decision to kill him in revenge. It was extremely nerve-wracking to see myself on screen at the screening last night, but hearing other people’s positive feedback was really gratifying. Yesterday at the Ted Brunetti Studio, we had a mock audition with a set of sides Marilyn sent to us over the weekend. Even though I prepare for getting in front of the camera I am still getting over my nerves of being in front of it. When I get specific direction or adjustment, I am not thinking about it as smart or advanced as I should. I know this and I get really upset with myself for not doing it correctly, but I am still so proud of myself for putting myself in the position I have with the acting majors and know I simply need more practice…

For anyone who knows me even somewhat well, they will certainly tell you that I cannot survive without going to the gym. Within the last year I have created a long-term goal for myself of (hopefully) getting into fitness modeling and really take that part of my life seriously. The other day when I was at LA Fitness I met a bodybuilder with his pro-card who turned out to be a celebrity personal trainer. I was able to meet up with him the other day while he was training one of his clients at the Gold’s Gym in Venice and did one of his pre-competition workouts. It was such an awesome experience.

Everyone also got to go see the Cirque du Soleil IRIS show at The Dolby Theater in LA this past Friday. One of my roommates had met one of the crewmembers earlier this summer, so we even got to go backstage after the show! I was on the edge of my seat for the entire performance and would definitely go see another Cirque show again.

Leave a Reply

