Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

This week we saw Seeking a Friend for the End of the World.  I can honestly say I went into this movie with an open mind.  I was curious to see how an apocalyptic story could be turned into a romantic comedy.  I had heard mixed reviews so I definitely gave it a fair chance.

The story follows Dodge (Steve Carrell), an insurance salesman, on a journey to find his high school sweetheart as the end of the world approaches.  In the final two weeks of his time on earth, he finds a friend in his peculiar neighbor, Penny (Keira Knightley).

I understood the choice to paint a traumatic situation in ironically cheery light; however, it came across like a struggle for classification.   There was not an overarching tone.  The content and style would be completely lighthearted and would then turn somber in a matter of moments.  This could be argued as a unique artistic choice but I found it to be unsettling.  At times I would not know whether to laugh or cry.  While this can actually be a wonderful sensation when watching a film, in this case, it left me uneasy and uncertain.

However, I respected the performances by both, Steve Carrell and Keira Knightley.  It was refreshing seeing Keira Knightley in a quirky, free spirited role.  She brought truth to a character that could have easily come across as a caricature.  And Steve Carrell, as always, does a marvelous job in his humorous yet fully fleshed out character.  I must say, while the actors’ individual performances were enjoyable, the chemistry between the two was far-fetched.  I had trouble buying the older insurance salesman falling for the younger, musician’s girlfriend in a matter of two weeks.

Though I do appreciate the ultimate message of the film that love is all you need in the end, I wish it could have been presented in a more poignant way.  I enjoyed the movie on the most superficial level but I cannot help but feel it was a mediocre attempt at a witty, cross-genre picture.

One thought on “Seeking a Friend for the End of the World

  1. Pingback: Seeking a Friend for the End of the World is lovely! « nediunedited

Leave a Reply

