Go Local

One of the coolest things to do, in my opinion, is to support your local community. And while I may not be a permanent LA resident, it has graciously been hosting me for a month and a half now. Because of this, I was happy that today I was able to attend an event supporting LA locals. Unique America strives to bring “modern, curated, made-in-America, design, fashion and art to the masses.” This weekend, the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica hosted the second annual Unique LA summer show! Rows of local artists, designers and chefs filled the open space and there were even DIY craft stations (with long lines, sadly…). I did however leave with multiple free stickers, flyers, artwork, two shirts, and best of all I left with the proud feeling of giving back to the community. 10% of all ticket sales ($10 event entry) were donated to a local literacy agency, 826LA. Unique America also hosts events in San Francisco and New York. No matter what city I end up in I hope I always have the chance to support the local community and those who are producing such amazing, beautiful work!

One thought on “Go Local

Leave a Reply

