You can never prepare too much

Last Saturday was the first of three shootings days for “Rock Bottom,” a short film written by Alex Hadden and directed by myself. I spent the week preparing for the shoot, detailing equipment lists, call times, shot lists — all to make sure the day went as smoothly as possible.

However, while driving to the location with audio technician Ben Soldate, I learned that no matter how much you prepare for a shoot, something always goes wrong. About a mile away from the location, my car ran out of gas.

I couldn’t help but laugh at the situation. What are the odds! I spent the next 25 minutes literally running around the block collecting a red fuel can, some gas, and a funnel, all from various locations. It was exhausting, and we hadn’t even started filming yet!

I guess the point of all this is, you can never prepare too much for a shoot. Always expect the unexpected, and try to deal with it the best way you can. I wish I had a picture of my car stuck in the middle of Victory Blvd. Instead, here is a still from the shoot that day.

 

Leave a Reply

