Just Say Yes

One of the most important rules of improv is to say “yes” to everything in the biggest possible way. (The actors I watched perform at The Groundlings long-form improv show were fantastic at this.) A summer in LA has reinforced that rule a million times over for me. I came out here to take an acting class, intern, and explore the city. By being open to opportunities when they came my way, I was able to do so much more. In addition to the acting class, I decided to take a screenwriting class when the chance arose. I developed an idea for a short story into a full script, which was then chosen by Climbing the LAdder Productions as one of our final films for the summer, and I’m now writer and producer of my first short film, “Olive“. I said yes to the opportunity to work with several production students on their freestyle projects, and also on two of the final short films, “Rock Bottom” and “The Third Proposal“, which were wonderful experiences to perform and to get a look behind-the-scenes at onset production. When asked by Michael Tahan if I would be interested in doing a music video, I said yes and got to work with Will Simon, Conor Ambrose, and him on a music video for Phil Kahan‘s song “Hannah”. When my internship at Liz Lewis Casting Partners offered me the chance to be an extra on a feature film, I immediately said yes. Not only did I get to spend the day at a mansion in Malibu, I met some really interesting actors and got a taste of what extra work is all about. When my roommate, Jennifer Roberts, asked if I wanted to wander into the Biltmore Hotel in Downtown LA, I hesitantly said yes, and got the opportunity to be on the set of Castle and meet Nathan Fillion! And all along the way, saying yes to the events organized by the Elon in LA program has given me the chance to see Cirque du Soleil’s “Iris”, a VIP tour of Warner Bros Studios, The Getty, Griffith Observatory, a Dodger’s game, Free Shakespeare, and weekly movies. My experience in LA has shown me that millions of opportunities are out there – you just have to be ready and willing to take them.

 

Leave a Reply

