Movin’ on Up

For the past two weeks, my boss Erick has been away on a business trip in New York City. While it was nice in the agency to have a slower change of pace, things couldn’t have been more busy when he returned this past Friday. With all the work that Erick needed to catch up on, he was overwhelmed with the amount of work that had to be done.

As a result of Erick’s stress level, he called me into his office, told me his situation, and asked me if I could handle being his assistant. Of course, I said yes. Since I have an interest in pursuing a career in a talent agency, I knew that this would be a great opportunity to gain a better sense of working at an agency.

While it felt great to be able to climb the “LAdder” (pun intended) while still being an intern, there was a lot on the line if I messed up. One of the most important things I was assigned to do was to sit down with actor clients and have them sign their initial contracts for representation at Mavrick Artists Agency.

While this seems like an easy task, thee was still a lot of room for error. If the client forgot to sign just one part of the contract, then the whole contract is worthless and it would be my fault. Luckily, I didn’t mess up on anything and I can proudly say I killed it as an assistant to a talent agent.

Being promoted to an assistant has definitely made me a lot more confident as far as my work ethic goes and it reminds me that constant hard work doesn’t go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

