First Two Months in LA

My time in Los Angeles so far has flown by.  Reflecting on all I’ve experienced makes me realize how amazing this city is, and how important it is to seize every moment you can not only in this city of opportunity, but wherever you may be.  The work ethic that has been instilled in me during my time in Los Angeles is something I’m excited to carry with me going back to Elon.  Beyond work ethic, I’ve gained numerous valuable skills that have made me a more well-rounded individual.  I’m loving my time here, of course, but I’m looking forward to applying all I’ve gained and experienced to my future endeavors.

I already pencilled something in my agenda for my time in LA before I even got here, and that was going to the Grammy Awards.  A stage manager at Conan has served as a stage manager for several live shows, such as the Kids’ Choice Awards, Grammy Awards, and even the Super Bowl.  Her connection with the Grammys allowed about 15 Conan interns who signed up in time to be in the mosh pit, which is the section right in front of the stage.  It was certainly overwhelming seeing so many musicians in such a small amount of time, as well as seeing all the work that goes on behind the scenes to make that show possible.  Through the same stage manager, I was also able to work the Kids’ Choice Awards as an audience coordinator.  There’s so much work that goes on behind the scenes by several individuals (much more than I would ever guess) that makes this hour-and-a-half show possible.  Not only were these great experiences, but they also instilled the importance of connections.  I’ve been able to meet a lot of people while I’ve been here.  Whether it be Conan employees and interns, Elon alumni in the area, or people I’ve met through various encounters, I look forward to continuing my relationships with the individuals I’ve met.

Being in Los Angeles has been a blast.  It’s weird thinking that my time here for now is approaching its end, but there’s still plenty of work to be done and fun to be had.  I’m working on a short film entitled Circle of the Sun.  I’m a Co-Producer and Director of Photography for the project, and have been busy making sure production goes smoothly. We had our first big day of shooting yesterday, and shot scenes from most of the script.  It was a great feeling seeing all the work that was put into a production of this caliber come to life.  I know this will be a project I’m going to be proud of, and I look forward to being able to show it to everyone once it’s completed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

