2 Months on a Bullet Train

For all of us that came out to Los Angeles on February 1, I don’t think any of us have really  stopped moving since we got off the plane.  The past two months have been a flurry of internship days, tours, traffic jams, scenic overlooks, film sets, story boards, shot lists, crowds, assignments, deadlines, new faces, sunsets, and even some sunrises.  Being out here has been hard work.  We are not at Elon anymore, which I now see as others who have left see it, a safe bubble of comfort, security, and familiarity.  Reality has hit me in the face more than once, and by more than once I mean too many times to count, and luck has not always been on my side.  But this experience in LA has been incredibly valuable.  I have learned volumes about navigating an unfamiliar city, an unfamiliar workplace, an industry that runs full-speed ahead at all times, and the way a friendly face or smile from a kind stranger can turn your whole day around.

There are always reminders of why I keep the dream alive that provide me with the motivation to keep going.  To begin with, the city is beautiful in so many ways.  Geographically, it is spread out, and while that causes more traffic and more fuel emissions, it also means that there is ample green space, wide boulevards, and room for the sprawling hills to overpower the view through your windshield.  I continue to look at the hills for inspiration and serenity.  They are a reminder that I am small and the earth is powerful, and no matter what stress I may be feeling, the world will continue turning.

Additionally, several encounters and experiences have perpetuated the magic of Hollywood and the City of Angels.  The Warner Bros studio tour has been one of my favorite activities out here.  I went behind the scenes of the backlots and studios for some of my favorite shows.  I have had several random celebrity encounters, including but not limited to Lance Bass, Zooey Deschanel and Henry Winkler.  Some are kind, some are gruff, but it’s always fun to realize the people you see on the big and small screen have to grocery shop just like you.

Finally, I do not know where I would be without the love and support of my friends and family.  We are told time and again from alumni that creating genuine and lasting relationships is the key to success in this industry.  I know for certain that having loyal friends make things infinitely better.

Thanks for reading!  LA is a vibrant, effervescent city that I will be sad to leave in just 3 weeks.  Here’s hoping I find myself back here one day!

-Julia

Leave a Reply

