LA Firsthand: The First Two Months

LA was always a place that I knew I had to visit. I didn’t know when or how, but in my core LA was in my future. So when the opportunity last year came to apply for this program for the spring, how could I say no? And though I’ve been here for almost 2 months, it only feels like yesterday I moved out here.

I didn’t know what to expect coming out here, but it’s already been one crazy adventure that I don’t want to end. Yes there have been there bad times and such, but the environment and feel of the city is one I simply cannot get enough of. There are endless possibilities of what to do: Stroll to Venice beach, climb to the Hollywood sign, Disneyland, anything your heart desires. It seems that LA has everything to offer and if you play your cards right, you can do anything you want.

Naturally when coming to a new place that you’ll be interning for months, you always want to make sure you do your best. Also at the same time, you are never fully prepared for what challenges may come your way. Some days are easy, while others keep me on my toes. Especially since I am such a people pleaser, some days have been too much for me. But I’ve learned so much and been overcoming some of my fears as I work, making the office environment more adaptable for me. I’ve also received some of the best advice from my internship: challenge yourself but know when you are at your limits.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Looking back on these few months, I am beyond grateful with the opportunity the Elon in LA program has given me. I know in my heart that this area, this place is where I want to be. I’ve already decided that when I graduate I’m moving straight to LA, because I know I fit in. The projects, classes, Elon Alum, the internship, all of it have been beyond heaven for me. I would never trade these experiences for anything and hope that one day if you get the chance, COME TO LA! You know how many have said yolo: you only live once? As cheesy as it sounds, you do. And if you have a list of things you want to do before it’s too late, make the trip LA one of them. It’s changed my life, maybe it’ll change yours :-).

– Chelsea Wingo

Leave a Reply

