Three Top Highlights from My Time in Los Angeles

It is hard for me to believe that I’ve been in Los Angeles for over a month now. It seems like just yesterday I was meeting with J, getting my room key and settling into Oakwood.

I thought I would focus my post on three of my highlights from the past month.

  1. Hiking to the Tree of Inspiration was one of the hardest and most rewarding experiences in my time here. J gave us fair warning that it would be a challenge for those who were not in the best of shape. Although I was fearful, I packed my water and inhaler and I was determined to give it a go. After a few water breaks and stops along the way, I completed the treacherous ascent to the tree. It was so rewarding and I was thankful for the chance to bond with fellow Elon in LA students whom I didn’t previously know. Image
  2. Malibu has been my second highlight since being in Los Angeles. Beaches are a place where I go to relax, listen to the waves and escape from the busy world we all seem to be consumed in. June 22nd was our Malibu beach day. A group of us packed our lunches and left early in the morning to ensure that we made the most of our day on the water. When we arrived we made our way to the closest shoreline, which happened to be a private beach, unbeknownst to us. I spent the day taking walks, meeting new friends and enjoying the breathtaking views. It was a day I won’t forget.1013027_10200144063950396_974889334_n
  3. The Dodger baseball game was something I’d been looking forward to since I got the calendar on Day 1. Baseball has always had a special place in my heart, and I even had the chance to intern with the Cincinnati Reds the summer after my freshman year. I loved spending time with everyone in the Climbing the Ladder program, trying my first Dodger Dog and enjoying the game. Night well spent.Image

There have been lots of ups, and just a few downs along the way, but I am so grateful for this once in a lifetime opportunity. It has been such a learning experience thus far, and we are only halfway through!

Leave a Reply

