The Big Screen

I cannot believe that there is only a month left here! Time has gone by so strangely. I feel as though I have been here forever, but at the same time, I can’t believe I only have four weeks left. I had no idea what to expect before coming to LA, but was pleasantly surprised at how much I love it. Coming from Boston, LA seemed like a foreign world to me. But it’s been everything I could have hoped for.

There are so many awesome things to do here in LA, but one of my favorites has been going to the movies. Although it seems somewhat lame sitting inside when there’s so much left to explore, going to the movies in Los Angeles is an adventure of its own. Every theater has its own character, the audience comes for the previews and stays through the credits, and there are movies here I wouldn’t be able to see back home on Cape Cod. After being here only a month, I’ve seen over 7 films, all at different theaters. Last week, I was lucky enough to see Much Ado About Nothing at the Arclight in Hollywood. This movie was well-directed, beautifully filmed, and made me realize how artistic film can be.

Although I am not a cinema major, LA has opened my eyes to film and made me realize just how passionate I am about movies. Seeing not only films in theaters, but also the work of my classmates, has been inspiring and made me consider possible careers in the film industry. LA is such a creative place with so many great stories coming to life on the screen, and I hope to learn a little something from it.

El Capitan, where we saw Monsters University

El Capitan, where we saw Monsters University

 

Leave a Reply

