LA Favorites

Wow, one beautiful month has already passed and I still have one more left to go here in LA. So far it has been a whirlwind – a whirlwind of adventure, of experience, and of opportunity. I have thoroughly enjoyed everyday I’ve spent here and it turns out that I have taken to LA a lot quicker than I thought I would. LA is such a refreshing city and it’s truly earned its spot in my list of favorites. Although I have done many exciting things so far on my journey, here are a few of my most memorable moments:

Hike to the Hollywood sign

Hike to the Hollywood sign

I can finally cross “Climb to the Hollywood sign” off of my bucket list. This was one of the first activities that we did here in LA and it got me seriously pumped for the rest of my summer here. There’s just something about this iconic structure that energizes you when you see it in person. I had one of those, “Wow! I’m actually here” moments.

Parrots in Santa Monica

Parrots in Santa Monica

Santa Monica was the first beach we visited and I quickly leaned that everyday in Cali is a beach day. Everyday I’m impressed with this sunny weather…does it EVER rain here? What I especially enjoyed about Santa Monica (aside from the rad roller coaster at Pacific Park) was the abundance of street performers. Parrot man let me hold his parrots and after a slight freakout I learned to love the little guys.

Central Perk

Central Perk

Visiting the set of Friends was surreal, as was taking a VIP tour of Warner Brothers Studios. It’s a side of Hollywood that audiences don’t typically see so it felt as if I was being let in a little known secret. I mean, who knew that Central Perk is a whole lot smaller in person than on the small screen?

Hollywood Blvd

Hollywood Blvd

Although it’s super touristy of me, I couldn’t resist visiting Hollywood Blvd. It’s a must see for any LA visitor. The block is so full of energy and large crowds, which I loved. And of course, you’ve got to get your picture taken next to your favorite Hollywood star.

It’s hard to believe how much I’ve done over the course of just one month, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me during this next month. I’ve learned that LA most definitely lives up to its hype and I’m looking forward to these next weeks of further exploration.

Leave a Reply

