The LA Experience

“I always wanted to be a zookeeper when I was growing up, and I’ve wound up a zookeeper! I’ve been working with the Los Angeles Zoo for 45 years! I’m the luckiest old broad on two feet because my life is divided absolutely in half – half animals and half show business. You can’t ask for better than two things you love the most.”
-Betty White

First of all, I love Betty White. And I’m an animal lover too. But the reason I love this quote most is because I can relate entirely. As a rising senior studying Dance Performance and Strategic Communications along with a handful of other interests, I’ve decided my elevator pitch would only work riding up to the top of the Empire State building. What I’ve learned from this summer however, is that having career options is actually a blessing. My parents always told me to do what I love, so having a passion for more than one entity can only serve to provide more than one happy path in life.

After listening to the wise words of Sarah Elgart, Director of Artistic Development at Dance Camera West, the first thing I thought to myself was, “Wow, I wish I had her life”. Sarah has choreographed, directed, and produced everything from Disney’s Mickey Mouse Club, to award-winning dance films, to the new Star Trek Into Darkness movie that just came out this year. She is certainly an example of a person who has done it all, and someone I aspire to learn from.

Not only I have gathered new and exciting information from our guest speakers, but I am constantly gathering information from others. This includes Elon in LA faculty, my internship supervisors, visiting Elon alumni, and my peers- who have proven to be equally important in this process. Everyone always has something to new offer, and I have discovered a through-line in my friends in production, acting, public relations, and of course, my fellow dancers. We are here to deliver our own forms of creativity and discover just who we are in this world of opportunities. I can’t say I’m thrilled we only have less than a month left, but I’m excited to synthesize this new knowledge. I’m definitely a step further up the “ladder” than when I first got here.

IMG_1444IMG_1183IMG_7024IMG_1371

Leave a Reply

