the cronut

From the average croissant consumer to the more serious doughnut dieter, the perilous morning battle to rid oneself of “breakfast boredom” vanquishes with a mere glance towards America’s greatest edible creation yet – the cronut. The “cronut,” also known as the “doughssant,” the “crullant” or the less ingenious, “croissant-donut,” has left all wondering the same question: “Did the McDonalds’ McGriddle finally meet it’s match?” Alas, only a creation forged from the frying oil of premature death-by-cholesterol could force people to wait hours in line to get their hands on these sticky buns. Yet, the “cronut” is native to only one city in the entire world, and that is New York City, more specifically only one bakery in Soho, New York City — the horror.
But wait, below you will find two locations in downtown LA now serving a knock-off version of this provocative new masterpiece. Combining the flaky crust of a golden brown croissant with the cooking practices of a fried doughnut, the cronut is pure baking bliss.

404 E 2nd St Los Angeles, CA 90012 (213) 680-4899 Hours: Mon-Tue 8 am - 6 pm Wed-Fri 8 am - 7 pm Sat 8:30 am - 7 pm

404 E 2nd St
Los Angeles, CA 90012
(213) 680-4899
Hours:
Mon-Tue 8 am – 6 pm
Wed-Fri 8 am – 7 pm
Sat 8:30 am – 7 pm

Semi Sweet Bakery 105 E 6th St Los Angeles, CA 90014 (213) 228-9975 Hours: Closed on Mondays Tuesday - Thursday, Sunday 8am - 4pm Friday - Saturday 8am - 6pm

Semi Sweet Bakery
105 E 6th St
Los Angeles, CA 90014
(213) 228-9975
Hours:
Closed on Mondays
Tuesday – Thursday, Sunday 8am – 4pm
Friday – Saturday 8am – 6pm

So, you might ask yourself, why would I choose to focus my first blog post on the innovative handiwork of a Soho bakery? And so the story begins…

Location: Century City, Los Angeles, specifically 1888 Century Park East, 14th fl.
Date: Summer time, exclusively July, 2nd 2013
Time of Day: Mid-Morning, roughly 10:45am

Plot: Lane Smith, the intern, sits idly at her desk waiting for the phone to ring. Suddenly, from the adjacent desk, Lane hears her supervisor ask something of her: would Lane be able to retrieve a package from the Boss’s house? Of course Lane could do this! Even more spectacularly, Lane could do this without getting paid and with a smile on her face. And so, Lane sets forth from the office to retrieve a package. But wait, there’s more! Before Lane leaves, she walks around to people in the office and asks if she could get anything for them while she is out. Only one request is made: a dozen cronuts.

And that, my fellow bloggers, is how the “cronut crisis” began. When I left the office to pick up the package for my boss, I immediately did what J. tells us all to do when we don’t have an answer for something– Google it. So whilst I drove to my boss’s house, I googled “cronuts” and learned that they were a baked good (prior to this experience I did not have any clue what a cronut was). Then, I googled every bakery within a ten mile radius of Century City to locate a dozen cronuts. Not until I had talked to a fair few of bakeries did I realize that cronuts were a new sensation that could only be found in Soho, New York City. I had been set up. My supervisor, being a light-hearted spirit, was pulling my leg. I spent the rest of the day googling places to find knock-off cronuts in Los Angeles, and came up victorious. Pre-ordering a dozen cronuts, I came to work the following morning and placed a dozen “cronuts” on my supervisor’s desk. I officially became, Lane “the cronut delivering intern” Smith.

I am an intern, and as such, it is my goal to prove to my superiors that I can be the best coffee retriever, package picker-upper, coverage reader, and yes, cronut locator, so that is what I am going to do, and what I continue to do.

The Cronut Crisis

Leave a Reply

