I became involved with the short film Steinwicks and Agnes completely on a whim. I had walked into Oakwood’s North Clubhouse to meet with professor Jen Guy when Brian Mezerski asked me if I wanted to help out with his film. Sure, why not. Next thing I know I am the Publicity Assistant Director and I am couldn’t be more thrilled. My majors are in Strategic Communications and Arts Administration so getting to function within a team of creative minds and help out on the movie set while promoting the production is teaching me so much. You can’t learn this stuff just by sitting in the classroom and reading a textbook. Publicity is a round the clock job. Updates to social media must happen constantly, publications should receive press releases, Indiegogo fundraising accounts must be monitored at all times: concerning both content and reaching out to possible donors. Publicity requires a creative, open, and collaborative mind, and thanks to the S&A team, our publicity has been success thus far. There is still much to do, including promoting the film after it is created, and I cannot wait to see what we will be able to achieve. I am so glad I became a part of the team because I think this will be one of the only times I will be able to be a part of a project like this.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

