Celebrating Cinema

One of the most rewarding parts of being in Los Angeles is that cinema is celebrated everywhere you go. L.A. is a city that is dedicated to the creation and education of film. So while in the entertainment capital of the world, going to a movie isn’t just for leisure; it’s an eminent night out that you look forward to. Whether it is at a film festival or movie theatre, there is what seems like an endless number of vicinities to view a film throughout the city.

I’ve had the opportunity to see films at six different theatres during my time here, and that doesn’t include the movie we are scheduled to see in Santa Monica this coming week. Out of all the films and theatres I’ve been up to this point, however, my favorite Wednesday movie night was when I saw The Kings of Summer at the Laemmmle’s Playhouse 7 Movie Theater in Pasadena. Besides the fact the theatre’s concession stand did not have a kiddie pack option, a treat my roommates and I look forward to every movie night, I was happily content with the small popcorn and coconut water I purchased instead.

Laemmle’s Playhouse 7 was rather quaint for the special screening of The Kings of Summer. One of the highlights of the Sundance Film Festival this year, it is a heartfelt tale following three teenage boys who decide to break away from their parents’ rules and live independently in a house they build for themselves in the woods. If you haven’t seen it yet, I suggest you do, because it is definitively one of the best films this summer so far, at least in my opinion.

Image

The Kings of Summer

Leave a Reply

