The Satisfaction in Tiredness

“You are never tired.” That’s what J taught us the very first time he talked to us as the Elon in LA class of 2013. You are never tired in class. You are never tired at your internship. You are never tired when you’re on set. You. Are. Not. Tired. Back at Elon, that went in one ear and out the other. Take one look at my iCal and you’d know that tired is a very prominent word in my vocabulary. But being out here for a number of weeks, I have really learned to heed J’s words and it feels better than you’d think.

Image

I may be sitting down, but I’m not tired!

There is just too much to do and enjoy to be tired. Being in LA within the rush of things, I want to give my all in my internship, in my projects, even in my downtime. Tiredness in LA means you’re forfeiting effort and losing out on an experience. LA ain’t got time for that. I’ve pushed through ever ounce of exhaustion to take LA for all that it has and I think I’ve benefitted because of it. For example, while working hard putting together the major event my producer is hosting, she actually came up to me and asked me if I needed a break, since I hadn’t stopped since arriving. I looked up at her, smiled, and told her I wasn’t tired at all. I could feel myself making a good impression on her and nothing could feel better.

At the end of the day, when the exhaustion seeps into my pours, it actually feels satisfying. My feet ache, my eyes can’t stand the brightness of my computer screen and sometimes, I don’t even have the energy to make my dinner. But I feel better knowing that I’m not letting my tiredness get the best of me. I am making the most of my summer and at this point, I’ll sleep when I’m in a retirement home. 

Leave a Reply

