It’s a Bird, It’s a Plane… It’s…The Intern!

Image

 

The above photo was taken by my supervisor in front of a seemingly mile long press line at Comic Con 2013. Let me start off by saying that previous to my California arrival, I had NO IDEA what Comic Con was– I am now embarrassed. How could I not have known about this?? Comic Con is the concentrated outpouring of a video-gaming, super-hero-loving sub culture… and Ian Somerhalder was there? Affirmative. Oozing ketchup-blood, reptile masks, scull caps, drag, stilts and spandex suits abounded and left Comic Con virgins such as myself… sensorily bombarded.

As Young Hollywood’s production assistant for the day, I was assigned the task of pointing out exceptionally extravagant costumes for b-roll coverage. A YH editor and I literally waded through crowds of Captain America’s, Yoda’s and Batmen (convincing ones, I might add) to shoot footage of the standouts. Oh. And these Comic Con-ers were not camera shy. When targeted by a lens, the participants jumped into character, either baring teeth or blowing kisses. You name it, someone was dressed as… it. 

My supervisor managed to get me a press pass so I could be present for Young Hollywood’s scheduled film shoots. Our host, Nikki Novak interviewed stars from Grimm, Vampire Diaries, Captain America, Thor and Guardians of the Galaxy and I sponged each. What I mean to say is that I absorbed all kinds of levels the industry has to offer by attending this spectacle of an event. Speaking of sponge, Tom Kenny, the voice of SpongeBob was the first interview of my day! 

I helped the crew with camera equipment (to the best of my ability), laser-beamed on Nikki’s hosting technique, watched as celebrities were led by publicists down press lines, performed deadline talent research on a last minute shoot shift, etc. 

Looking back, I’m in disbelief that I was able to attend this event as an intern. I saw so many different facets of the industry hard at work, and in a setting tailored to my interests. I could go on and on but it was an experience I will value, and reference, for the rest of my life.Image

 

Leave a Reply

